Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/gokennye/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106 • View topic -
   Let's talk racing
    Register FAQ  •  Search    
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:08 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:10 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 207
Location: Missouri
A Busch was in Victory Lane at Atlanta Motor Speedway for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event, but it wasn't Kyle for a change. This time his brother, 2004 series champ Kurt, took the win after dominating the race in his Penske Championship Racing Dodge. A late-race caution provided a green-white-checkered showdown between Busch, two-time Gateway International Raceway winner Carl Edwards, and Jeff Gordon, but Busch's car was too strong and he took the victory. Edwards finished third and fellow two-time GIR winner Kevin Harvick finished fourth, his first top-five at AMS since his emotional win there in 2001. Also finishing in the top-ten were former NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Brian Vickers (fifth), Budweiser Dodge driver Kasey Kahne (seventh), and 2004 GIR winner Martin Truex (tenth), who raced Sunday despite visiting an area hospital over the weekend with kidney stones.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series was off this weekend and returns to action in two weeks with the Sprint Cup Series at Bristol.

Kyle Busch may not have won the race on Sunday, but he did visit AMS's Victory Lane, winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event on Saturday. Busch took the victory even after losing second and third gear late in the race and maintains the NCWTS points lead on the strength of two wins and a runner-up in three races. Kevin Harvick, the winning team owner of the 2008 Camping World 200 at GIR, finished second with 2006 series champ and Gateway winner Todd Bodine finishing third. Terry Cook, another former winner at Gateway, finished fifth, his second top-five of the season as fellow GIR winners Ron Hornaday (seventh) and Johnny Benson (ninth) also earned top-tens at Atlanta. The Truck Series will next see action March 28 at Martinsville.

After a couple weeks off, the NHRA Full Throttle Series returns to action this weekend at Gainesville for the Gatornationals. The event marks the first race of the year for the Pro Stock Motorcycle class and more than 20 PSM teams are expected to attempt to make Sunday's eliminations. Winners at this race last year were Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Tony Pedregon (Funny Car, who also celebrates a birthday today), Jeg Coughlin, Jr. (Pro Stock), and Matt Guidera (Pro Stock Motorcycle). Be sure to head to the HotShots in O'Fallon, Ill., Sunday at 1 p.m. for Gateway International Raceway's NHRA watch party and the 2009 Miss Gateway competition. There will be great food and great prizes and you won't want to miss it! is your home for everything you need to know about motorsports on the local, regional, and national level. Visit the site for the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series' points standings as well as exclusive stories, photos, and audio. Right now at are weekend wrap-ups from the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Sprint Cup Series races as well as the National Guard ADRL Tour's season opener at Houston Raceway Park.

GIR is hosting the NHRA Full Throttle Series (May 1-3), the NASCAR Nationwide Series (July 18), and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Sept. 12) once again in 2009 as well as the National Guard ADRL Tour and the USAC .25 Midget Series. For more information, visit

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group